Ministers from Busoga Rally Behind Mukula for NRM Eastern Vice Chairperson Seat


Ministers who hail from Busoga sub region and all other top politicians have endorsed Capt Mike Mukula to retain his seat as NRM Eastern Vice Chairperson.

The race for this NRM CEC slot is majorly contested by Mukula and former Tororo Municipality MP Sanjay Tanna.

On Sunday, Mukula took his campaigns to Busoga sub region where he met all members of the NRM District Executive Committee (DEC) including women groups, youths and special interest groups.

In the meeting that took place at YMCA in Jinja, all the members present unanimously endorsed Mukula as their NRM Vice chairperson for Eastern region.

The motion of resolution to endorse Mukula was raised by former Minister of Trade Nelson Gagawala Wambuzi and was seconded by all district chairpersons from Busoga.

Among the ministers present who hail from Busoga who endorsed Mukula’s candidature are; Gume Fredrick Ngobi, Minister of State for Trade, Industry and Cooperatives, State minister of Lands, Isaac Musumba. Others are former Lands minister Daudi Migereko, several MPs from Busoga led by the area MP Moses Balyeku (Jinja West).

Nearly all regions have so far endorsed Mukula’s candidature including; Teso, Sebei, Lango, Acholi, etc. Today (Monday), Mukula is expected to meet women groups in Soroti before heading to Central region tomorrow where he is expected to meet delegates from Masaka, Mityana and Mubende. Mukula is also expected to campaign in Western region as well.

NRM Secretary General Justine Lumumba on Sunday announced that the national delegates conference will sit on 18th August to 20th August where they will elect the top NRM CEC members. Positions which are up for grabs are; first national vice chairperson, the second national vice chairperson (female) and the six regional vice chairpersons.

Leave a comment