Uganda’s Sheebah nominated for MTV EMA 2020 Awards

Ugandan Diva Sheebah Karungi

Ugandan songstress, Sheebah Karungi is in jubilation mode after scooping a nomination in the 2020 MTV EMA Awards announced by MTV yesterday.  She also happens to be the only Ugandan to have been given at node for the prestigious awards.

The ‘Nakyuka’ songstress was nominated in the Best African Act category alongside continental heavyweights such as Burna Boy (Nigeria), Rema (Nigeria), Master KG (South Africa), Kabza de Small and DJ Maphorisa (South Africa), and Gaz Mawete (Democratic Republic of The Congo).

Sheebah’s nomination in the prestigious 2020 MTV EMAs has continued to cement her place as a huge force to be reckoned with in the Ugandan and African music industry.

The “2020 MTV EMAs” will premiere exclusively on MTV (DStv Channel 130) & MTV Base (DStv channel 322) at 20:00 WAT/21:00CAT (Pre-show TBC) & 21:00 WAT/22:00CAT (Main-show) respectively on November 8th.

Monde Twala, Senior Vice President and General Manager of ViacomCBS Networks Africa commented, “The 2020 MTV EMAs is one of the biggest entertainment stages in the world and this year’s African nominees are undoubtedly making their presence felt globally. This affirms our commitment to ensuring that we continue to celebrate our diverse talent on international platforms. Congratulations to all our African nominees on this achievement.”

Marking the 27th edition of one of the biggest nights in global music, the “2020 MTV EMAs” will unite fans at home with the world’s hottest names in music.

The two-hour “2020 MTV EMAs” will air globally on MTV in 180 countries and territories on Sunday, November 8, 2020.

Fans can begin to cast their votes today, as voting is now open at mtvema.com until November 2 at 12:59 am Ugandan time.

The MTV EMA is an annual music awards show that features world-class performances from some of the biggest music acts on the planet.

 

Leave a comment