Whatsapp Adds a ‘Delete’ Feature that lets Users ‘Unsend’ Messages

148

By Jenifer Neema

Most of us have sent at least one text or image we later wished we could take back.

And thanks to WhatsApp’s latest update, that wish has now become a reality.

WhatsApp has introduced a new ‘delete for everyone’ feature, allowing users to unsend an embarrassing message within seven minutes of sending it. The feature is currently rolling out to users on Android and iOS, although it is unclear how widespread and quickly the launch will take place. However, recipients may still have a chance to see your message before it’s deleted.

WhatsApp has updated its FAQs page to explain the new feature. The FAQ page says: “Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.’

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will now be replaced with ‘This message was deleted’ in your recipients’ chats. This only happens with in 7 minutes after sending.

How it works

To delete a message, open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you want to delete.

Tap and hold the message, then choose Delete from the menu.

Tap ‘Delete for everyone’ and the message will disappear.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will now be replaced with ‘This message was deleted’ in your recipients’ chats.

Similarly, if you see ‘This message was deleted’ in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

 

Leave a comment